You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Menu

Lisa Beißwanger M. A.

Architecture Theory and Science and Architecture and Art History at the department of Architecture at the Technical University of Darmstadt

Lisa Beißwanger is a research associate in the departments of Architecture Theory and Science and Architecture and Art History at the department of Architecture at the Technical University of Darmstadt. As an art historian, she approaches architecture from a cultural-studies and critical-analytical perspective. Her research areas include: Art and architecture of the 20th and 21st centuries and their socio-political contexts, institutional theory and critique, discourses of body, space and movement in the arts, museum and exhibition research, school and university architecture, and perspectives on the history of education and science.
After completing her master’s degree in art history at the Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, she worked for several years in the museum field, including at the Schirn Kunsthalle in Frankfurt. She then completed her doctorate at the Justus-Liebig-University Giessen. There she taught art history at the Institute for Art Education and was a member of the international cultural studies graduate center GCSC. Her dissertation will be published in fall 2021 under the title “Performance on Display – On the History of Living Art in Museums” in German by Deutscher Kunstverlag.
The subject of her postdoctoral project is the phenomenon of campus architecture in the Federal Republic of Germany in the 1960s. These large-scale projects are examined in the light of (then) contemporary educational politics and theory, especially systems theory and cybernetics. This raises questions about implicit as well as explicit systemic parameters and the inclusions and exclusions they consciously or unconsciously make.

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Menu

Lisa Beißwanger M. A.

Fachgebieten Architekturtheorie und -wissenschaft und Architektur- und Kunstgeschichte am Fachbereich Architektur der Technischen Universität Darmstadt

Lisa Beißwanger ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an den Fachgebieten Architekturtheorie und -wissenschaft und Architektur- und Kunstgeschichte am Fachbereich Architektur der Technischen Universität Darmstadt. Als Kunsthistorikerin nähert sie sich der Architektur aus einer kulturwissenschaftlichen, analytisch-kritischen Perspektive. Zu ihren Forschungsgebieten gehören: Kunst und Architektur des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts und ihre institutionellen sowie soziopolitischen Kontexte, Körper-, Raum- und Bewegungsdiskurse in den Künsten, Museums- und Ausstellungsforschung, Bildungsarchitektur und wissenschaftshistorische Perspektiven.
Nach dem Magisterstudium der Kunstgeschichte an der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg arbeitete sie mehrere Jahre im Museumsbereich, unter anderem an der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt. Anschließend promovierte sie an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen. Ebendort lehrte sie Kunstgeschichte am Institut für Kunstpädagogik und war Mitglied des internationalen kulturwissenschaftlichen Graduiertenzentrums GCSC. Ihre Dissertation erscheint im Herbst 2021 unter dem Titel „Performance on Display – Zur Geschichte lebendiger Kunst im Museum“ im Deutschen Kunstverlag.
Gegenstand ihres Postdoc-Projekts ist das Phänomen Campusarchitektur in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in den 1960er-Jahren. Diese Großbauprojekte werden im Spiegel der (damals) zeitgenössischen Bildungspolitik sowie Theoriebildung, insbesondere der Systemtheorie und Kybernetik betrachtet. Daraus ergeben sich Fragen nach impliziten wie expliziten systemischen Parametern und den Ein- und Ausschlüssen, die sie bewusst oder unbewusst treffen.